Welcome to the Open Access Australasia website

Events:

Open Access Week 2022


Open Access Australasia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Open Access Australasia recognises the Awabakal, Turrbal and Yugara, and Bedegal as the First Nations owners of the lands where we work.

We also pay our respects to all indigenous peoples wherever they are in the world including ngā iwi, Māori the tangata whenua of Aotearoa New Zealand.

 

This year’s Open Access week theme seeks to encourage connection and collaboration among the climate movement and the international open community. Sharing knowledge is a human right, and tackling the climate crisis requires the rapid exchange of knowledge across geographic, economic, and disciplinary boundaries.

Our program

Tuesday 25th October: Session 1

9AM AWST 11AM AEST 12PM AEDT 2PM NZDT

Climate injustice in the Pacific: how can open science support vulnerable communities?

We know that the effects of climate change are felt unequally in the countries of the Asia Pacific region.
This session will explore the role of open science in mitigating climate change. What action is required?

Tuesday 25th October: OER Part 1

10AM AWST 12PM AEST 1PM AEDT 3PM NZDT

Get your hands (figuratively) dirty to help the planet: Hacking a guide to open climate resources for teachers

Work with others to create a guide to resources on climate science and climate justice with a local focus. We’ll explain what open educational resources (OERs) are, where to find them, and how we’ll collaborate over the course of OA week to create our guide.  Friday we’ll get together to see what we’ve made!

Tuesday 25th October: Session 2

11AM AWST 1PM AEST 2PM AEDT 4PM NZDT

How the Open Landscape shifted in Australia & Aotearoa New Zealand in 2022

It’s been (another) big year in open access and open research. This session will take us on a rapid tour of some of the most consequential updates from a diverse group of individuals and organisations from Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand.

NOTE: This session is for 90 minutes

Wednesday 26th October: Session 1

9AM AWST 11AM AEST 12PM AEDT 2PM NZDT

The double edged sword of openness in climate science

Climate science research produces huge amounts of data that are critical for our understanding of climate change. But making all this research, especially the underlying data, open is not trivial and can be weaponised. This session will explore how data can be made open in a way that ensures its responsible use.

Wednesday 26th October: Session 2

11AM AWST 1PM AEST 2PM AEDT 4PM NZDT

Look at the Evidence: Climate Journalism and Open Science

This panel webinar will delve into the intersections between climate journalism, open science, and climate justice. Through conversations with experts, we will explore the importance of journalism in raising awareness of the climate crisis. We will also highlight the role that open science – including open data and open access publications – plays in supporting this important work.

Thursday 27th October: Session 1

9AM AWST 11AM AEST 12PM AEDT 2PM NZDT

Moving past open access myths: let’s get provocative

We have moved past OA myths. Everyone understands now that having your work free-to-read means your work will have more impact, right? Let’s get into the real issues of 2022: why can no-one agree about preprints? What about open peer review? Is paid OA the way of the future? Join us for a provocative panel postulating on all this and more.

Thursday 27th October: Session 2

11AM AWST 1PM AEST 2PM AEDT 4PM NZDT

All together now: Citizen Science and Climate Justice

Join our panel as they explore how citizen science supports climate justice. Hear researchers involved with citizen science projects discuss their work and the importance of community engagement in climate science. We will learn how such projects can raise awareness of the climate crisis and support calls to action.

Friday 28th October: Session 1

9AM AWST 11AM AEST 12PM AEDT 2PM NZDT

Real world impacts: how does open access tackle climate (in)justice?

Climate (in)justice is ongoing, the climate emergency unrepentant. In this panel we explore how actions and activists might be better informed and empowered if access to climate science was open and accessible.

Friday 28th October: OER Part 2

10AM AWST 12PM AEST 1PM AEDT 3PM NZDT

Get your hands (figuratively) dirty to help the planet: Hacking a guide to open climate resources for teachers #2

Following the Tuesday session, Climate Guide Hackers Unite! We’ll see what we’ve made, tidy things up and get ready to publish it!

Friday 28th October: Session 2

11AM AWST 1PM AEST 2PM AEDT 4PM NZDT

Wikimedia collaborations for climate research knowledge sharing

Wikipedia, Wikidata and other Wikimedia platforms are a major source of open knowledge on climate change and environmental issues. The accuracy of this information is therefore highly impactful. Join us for a discussion of how teamwork self-organises within these projects and how research and outreach collaborations are formed with the the broader knowledge ecosystem.

Many thanks to this year’s fantastic organising committee

Richard White, University of Otago (Chair)
Luqman Hayes, Auckland University of Technology
Donna Coventry, Auckland University of Technology
Sara Roberts, University of Canterbury
Natalie Mudd, University of the Sunshine Coast
Zachary Kendal, University of Melbourne
Anna Du Chesne, Charles Sturt University
Kate Davis, Council of Australian University Librarians
Ginny Barbour,  Open Access Australasia
Sandra Fry, Open Access Australasia

 

 

Past Events